No-Crust Quiches

20121002-DSC_4174

An easy quiche-like dish. I usually have a frozen tub of organic cottage cheese (another thing I look for mark-downs on!) and a freezer bag of spinach on hand for making an easy meal once in a while. You can either layer either red peppers (pictured) or tomatoes (my fave) on top.

Cheese and Spinach Pie recipe:

1 tub cottage cheese
3 free range eggs
6 tbsp spelt (or other) flour
approx 2/3 of a 10 oz container of spinach, roughly chopped
1 c chedder cheese (I like Dublin grass fed white chedder!)
1/2 cup diced organic ham or 2 pieces bacon (optional)
1/2 tomato or 1/4 red pepper, thinly sliced
salt and freshly cracked pepper
freshly grated parmesan (optional)

Mix the cottage cheese and eggs. Add flour and mix until lumps are mostly gone. Fold in spinach, then cheese. Scrap into pie plate. Arrange tomato slices over dish and sprinkle with salt, pepper and parmesan. Bake for 50-60 minutes at 350 degrees F. Allow to cool for 20 minutes before cutting. Works great served the next day.

And my more recent go-to recipe!…
The following quiche recipe is something I often make when I haven’t really planned a meal ahead of time and have a good supply of eggs.
I can generally throw a bunch of ingredients I have on hand together and it’s always a hit with my family. I’m a big fan of forgiving recipes like that. It’s a pretty general recipe, but I always include 6 eggs, a dash of milk, a pinch of cheese, sauteed onion or leek (leek is our favorite, and sometimes I sautee a bunch and freeze in ziploc in small portions for later), then some greens from our freezer or small broccoli florets. One quiche serves 4.

Basic Ingredients:
1/2 sweet onion or 3 leeks (white only), sauteed
6-8 large free run eggs
bunch of swiss chard leaves, cut into small pieces (or other greens)
1/4 c – 1.5 c cheese (I usually use up to 1/4 c soft (goat or feta) cheese, also I reserve a little grated hard cheese (chedder, mozzerella or parmesan) just for the topping )
approx 1/2 – 3/4 c cream or milk (dairy or non dairy)
salt & pepper
optional – diced ham or bacon

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Saute leeks or onion in oil until soft. (Sometimes I just do this all in my cast iron pan and it’s a one-pot dish!) Mix all ingredients together, lightly grease and pour ingredients into pie plate. Sprinkle salt, pepper and cheese on top and bake for about 40 minutes, or until a little browned on top, and it’s set so that liquid doesn’t seep out when poked in middle with knife.

Leave a Reply

