Strawberry Quinoa Muffins

20130927-DSC_7203
I’ve had a big tub of strawberries in my fridge needing to be used up (I highly recommend getting strawberries in season, local or organic otherwise they likely will have been heavily sprayed with pesticides). Looking for some new breakfast ideas again I came across this recipe. I modified it adding cocoa, and honey instead of sugar (as my 3 year insisted on “shoc-wate muffins!”). They’re denser than a muffin with wheat, but I really enjoyed the strawberry vanilla flavored muffins and my boys liked the “chockwat” variation. I’m still testing out how much more liquid should be added to the chocolate ones for the best texture, but you can try out the variation if you like!

Strawberry Quinoa Muffins

Ingredients:
1⅓ cup oat flour (what I do is blend my rolled oats to a fine meal, like whole wheat flour)
1 tsp non-aluminum baking powder
½ tsp salt
1/3 cup honey
2 Tbsp coconut or cane sugar
2 Tbsp coconut oil, melted
2 ripe bananas, mashed
2 eggs (or flax eggs: 2 tbsp ground flax + 6 tbsp water, whisked)
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 cup cooked quinoa
heaping cup of sliced strawberries
For Chocolate Variation Add:
1/3 c cocoa powder
3/4 c mini chocolate chips to replace strawberries (optional)
1 Tbsp melted butter
2 Tbsp whole milk

Instructions:
1. Mix first 3 dry ingredients in a bowl (then whisk in cocoa powder if using). In a separate mixing bowl, mix coconut oil, honey (I have to melt these two in a small sauce pan in the Winter because they solidify so much) bananas, eggs, vanilla until well blended. Stir in quinoa. I used my blender, first blending quinoa, then adding wet ingredients for a smooth consistency.
2. Slowly mix in dry ingredients just until it is all incorporated. I had my strawberries defrosted overnight and sliced them in the morning. Add strawberries (I just layered batter and strawberries into each muffin cup).
3. Measure batter into prepared cupcake tin (coconut oil is great for greasing muffins cups). Bake at 375 degrees F for 25 minutes. Makes 10-11 cupcake sized muffins.

Leave a Reply

